Allied Tribal Forces

Go Back   Allied Tribal Forces > Main Forums > Other Games

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2004, 10:47 AM   #1
xenophex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 43
Posts: 38
xenophex RSS Feed
Doom 3

Freakin cool ... makes it hard to go back to the coridors in Planetside.

Truely amazing game, and doesn't have the cartoon bouncy feel of Unreal Trounament 2003/4 which I was graphically impressed with but felt game play was to fast.

Turn the lights off, crank up the sound and prepare to have nightmares
xenophex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2004, 05:15 PM   #2
Stang
THZ* - CO
PlanetSide Characters
 
Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Everett, WA, USA
Age: 44
Posts: 3,925
Stang RSS Feed
WoW Characters
Ya sounds like its getting great raves .
__________________
Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 08:47 AM   #3
SmackDab
Registered User
PlanetSide Characters
 
SmackDab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Deer Park, TX
Age: 44
Posts: 813
SmackDab RSS Feed
Send a message via ICQ to SmackDab
OMFG, this game is WIN. The tech in it is amazing. If you can turn everything on HIGH man it's awesome. The sound is what's freaking me out right now, and things that are going on you just think that the guys at ID are freaking insane, like they should be locked up.

Here's a shot of my dIII
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shot00007.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	75.3 KB
ID:	277  
SmackDab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 10:03 AM   #5
xenophex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 43
Posts: 38
xenophex RSS Feed
I haven't jumped this much in a game in a long time. Graphics are out of control hehe.

You dig those dudes that crawl on walls?
xenophex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 05:09 PM   #6
Stang
THZ* - CO
PlanetSide Characters
 
Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Everett, WA, USA
Age: 44
Posts: 3,925
Stang RSS Feed
WoW Characters
Damn those are good graphics.

Keep talking about it and how scary it is and Im just going to have to go get it .

Gryphon said that yourmom told me to get it .
Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 12:05 PM   #7
Ardamir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,112
Ardamir RSS Feed
The game looks great but it just takes so much freaking power to run it anywhere near its optimum level. I had to OC my videocard, which is a 128 9800 Pro and lucky for me there is a major crash issue with my particular video card
Ardamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 12:14 PM   #8
xenophex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 43
Posts: 38
xenophex RSS Feed
P4 3.2Ghz
1G Mushkin PC3500 DDR
Nvidia 5900 Ultra
-Pulling 42 - 63 FPS @ 1024x768 (high mode)

There are a couple config file tweaks you can do to enhance game play to.

Last edited by xenophex; 08-12-2004 at 08:25 AM.
xenophex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 01:58 PM   #9
insaneferret
Registered User
PlanetSide Characters
 
insaneferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Houston TX
Age: 35
Posts: 220
insaneferret RSS Feed
A7N8X mobo
9800 pro at stock speeds
Athlon 3200+
1GB dual channel ram
i run it at high quality at excellent framerate @ 1024x768, no problems here, me and some of the SOUP guys played some deathmatch last night with teamspeak was awesome, felt a lot like quake/UT, but the darkness adds a whole new dimension

BTW, ATI released a new version of thier drivers that fixes some problems with doom 3, you should grab them if you're running slow on a 9800 pro, apparently ati will be re-writing thier entire opengl driver soon

another thing, you must play this game where the computer screen is the only source of light in the entire room and with a 5.1 sound system, 10x scarier
__________________

Last edited by insaneferret; 08-11-2004 at 02:03 PM.
insaneferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 08:02 AM   #10
Splidz
Registered User
PlanetSide Characters
 
Splidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Way Up in Cananadia
Posts: 787
Splidz RSS Feed
WoW Characters
I only have a 9500 Pro but I'm able to run the game smoothly at medium detail and 1024x768 on an Athlon 2800 system with 1 gig ram...
__________________
I like to drink in bars.
Splidz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 10:05 AM   #11
Ardamir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,112
Ardamir RSS Feed
Wow I just about have the same config as you, 3200+ 128 9800 pro. I run the newest Omega drivers with the updated Opengl.dll I got from the 4.9 Catalyst Betas which really improved preformance and reduced the amount of crashes. After I go SP2 I now crash every 5 min, so now I am probably going to underclock my vid card since they say Doom3 is very senesitive. Cant beleive I payed $60 for this amazing game that barley works.
Ardamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 10:39 AM   #12
xenophex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 43
Posts: 38
xenophex RSS Feed
I installed SP2 two days ago and haven't had any issues. I had actually rebuilt last weekend though so it was a fresh install of XP.
I do zero overclocking though just due to the fact that since the 600P3 days I've never had a stable system when I do that. Some games were over sensitive, some just would belly ache. For the 3 - 5% boost in performance it just was never worth it.

I'm a Programmer for a living so I need a stable system. Don't need my computer crashing while I'm working in VS.NET or Flash MX 2004 loosing work.

I took my Mushkin ram to 2-2-2-6 timing and Command and Conquer would always complain about a hardware overheating error. There were other misc oddities on the system so I took the mem back to its default 2-3-2-6 and have been stable ever since.

My Abit IC7-Max 3 has the Turbo + mode for the memory to which made the system unstable as well. As much as I love to tweak its just boiled down to paying for performance instead of altering variables and ending up with alot of belly aching and crashes.
xenophex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2004, 03:06 PM   #13
Lonewolf
Registered User
PlanetSide Characters
 
Lonewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9
Lonewolf RSS Feed
I need to pick up the patch-have ati 9800 pro-1.5 mem and 2.6 p4-but only med qual-(at 1600 res). Game rocks-rocket launcher very cool. Just wish they had a decent coop mode. I will search to see if ATI has patch for this as would love high quality vid-best way to play this game is at night-game will actually make you jump.
__________________
Fool me once, Shame on you
Fool me twice, Shame on me.
Lonewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 01:51 PM   #14
KWood
CO Indy
PlanetSide Characters
 
KWood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mission Viejo
Age: 47
Posts: 148
KWood RSS Feed
WoW Characters
Man, this game is nice but it is no Planetside. I can't get into a game where I know what is waiting around every corner. The graphics are sweet tho and it is a spine chiller the first time you run through it.
KWood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 01:54 PM   #15
xenophex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 43
Posts: 38
xenophex RSS Feed
Yeah, it can't hold a candle to the shelf life of Planetside.
xenophex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Allied Tribal Forces > Main Forums > Other Games

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53 PM.


vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.